North Western Winds

Contemplating it all from the great Pacific Northwest

iPhone 4

with 2 comments

I saw Steve Jobs’ demo of the iPhone 4 today and must admit I find this to be an interesting product, much more so than the 3Gs of last year. If memory serves, the 3Gs added speed (always welcome) and video recording. iPhone 4 adds a lot more – and it looks better too. Jobs referred to its’ style as reminiscent of a Leica camera, and that’s no lie. Leica products look fantastic and this new phone looks like it belongs at the same table.

I purchased a iPhone 3G two years ago. It was the first iPhone available in Canada and I have no regrets about that. It’s been a great product – a boon in many, many ways. I do regret that my Roger’s contract has another year to go before it expires and I can upgrade to a phone like this this without penalty.

Since my wife and I are both iPhone users, the Face Time video calling feature looks promising, even if it is limited to WiFi. I also have some hope that the new camera will be more useful than the toy that shipped with my 3G. Finally, I would love to have a look at that new display. In my experience Apple’s displays are phenomenal and this one looks like it will raise the bar.

The only disappointment I can see is that storage is limited to 32 GB. Anything would be an improvement over the 16 GB I’ve been stuck with, but 64 would have been a real hoot. I wonder if Apple stayed with the 16 for space and / or cost saving on the device or if they have some kind of cloud storage in the works.

My hope is that by next year, we’ll know the answer to that, and I can buy accordingly!

Written by Curt

June 9, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Posted in Cell phones, Tech

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Apple phones are fantastic! They all have the features I need.

    janel raelyn

    October 2, 2012 at 5:19 am

  2. Ich habe grou00dfes Interesse an deinem Buch u00fcber N.T. Wright. Leider ist mein Englisch sehr schlecht ich glaube jedoch, dass gerade im deutschspr Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

    kayleepatton35317

    April 8, 2016 at 6:34 am


Leave a Reply

