North Western Winds

Contemplating it all from the great Pacific Northwest

Something deeply hidden

with 43 comments

Who is this?

He was the first child and only son of a mathematics-minded but financially inept father and a strong-willed, musically gifte woman of some inherited means. A daughter, Maria, was born to th couple two and a half years later; when shown his infant sister, Albert took a look and said, “Yes, but where are the wheels?” Though this showed an investigative turn of mind, the boy was slow to talk, and the family maid dubbed him der Depperte—“the dopey one.”

As the boy progressed through the schools of Munich, where his father had found employment in his brother Jakob’s gas-and-electrical-supply company, Albert’s teachers, though giving him generally high marks, noted his resistance to authority and Germanic discipline, even in its milder Bavarian form. As early as the age of four or five, while sick in bed, he had had a revelatory encounter with the invisible forces of nature: his father brought him a compass, and, as he later remembered it, he was so excited as he examined it that he trembled and grew cold. The child drew the momentous conclusion that “something deeply hidden had to be behind things.” That intimation was to carry him to some of the greatest scientific discoveries of the twentieth century, and to a subsequent persistent but unsuccessful search for a theory that would unite all the known laws of nature, and to a global fame impossible to imagine befalling any mere intellectual now.

Albert Einstein, of course.

The New Yorker article goes on to give us an interesting quote:

His faith that a unified theory of all the fields exists went back to his childhood sense that “something deeply hidden had to be behind things,” a something that would evince itself in an encompassing theory of elegant simplicity. Isaacson tells us: “On one of the many occasions when Einstein declared that God would not play dice, it was Bohr”—the physicist Niels Bohr—“who countered with the famous rejoinder: Einstein, stop telling God what to do!” God, sometimes identified as “the Almighty” or “the Old One” (der Alte) frequently cropped up in Einstein’s utterances, although, after a brief period of “deep religiousness” at the age of twelve, he firmly distanced himself from organized religion. In a collection of statements published in English as “The World As I See It,” there is this on “The Religiousness of Science”:

The scientist is possessed by the sense of universal causation.…His religious feeling takes the form of a rapturous amazement at the harmony of natural law, which reveals an intelligence of such superiority that, compared with it, all the systematic thinking and acting of human beings is an utterly insignificant reflection. This feeling is the guiding principle of his life and work, in so far as he succeeds in keeping himself from the shackles of selfish desire.

Technorati Tags:
, , ,

Written by Curt

March 27, 2007 at 5:56 pm

43 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. electrical supplies are always available in our local hardware dealer at a discounted price~`.

    Locket Necklace :

    October 27, 2010 at 7:02 pm

  2. If you could message me with any hints about how you made your website look this awesome , Id be thankful.

    website

    June 6, 2012 at 3:03 pm

  3. When I initially commented I clicked the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently each time a remark is added I receive four messages with the exact same comment.

    good deals

    June 21, 2012 at 5:14 am

  4. This is a amazing weblog, could you be interested in making time for an interview about just how you produced it? If so e-mail me and my friends!

    rent advance cash

    June 21, 2012 at 6:44 am

  5. Good Stuff, do you currently have a bebo profile?

  6. This is often a fantastic web site, would you be interested in going through an interview about just how you designed it? If so e-mail me!

    this month

    June 21, 2012 at 7:38 pm

  7. Can you email me with some tips on how you made this blog site look this awesome , Id appreciate it!

    the hormone replacement

    June 21, 2012 at 7:58 pm

  8. Great Stuff, do you currently have a bebo account?

    dean karr

    June 22, 2012 at 6:16 pm

  9. Could you email me with any hints & tips about how you made this website look this cool, I would appreciate it!

    account

    June 23, 2012 at 2:41 pm

  10. How did you make your blog site look this good. Email me if you want and share your wisdom. !

    sponsor

    June 24, 2012 at 6:19 am

  11. Amazing article, thanks, I will subscribe to you RSS later.

    senukexcrreviews.co.uk

    June 26, 2012 at 12:31 pm

  12. I love that website layout ! How do you make it!? It is really good!

    buy leather wallets

    June 26, 2012 at 1:24 pm

  13. Even though I actually like this publish, I think there was an punctuational error shut towards the end of the 3rd paragraph.

    intangible

    June 29, 2012 at 5:49 am

  14. Amazing article, thank you, I will bookmark you later!

    buy fridge freezer

    June 29, 2012 at 8:34 pm

  15. Have you considered including several social bookmarking buttons to these blogs. At least for twitter.

    versaflex

    July 1, 2012 at 6:36 am

  16. You ought to really moderate the commentary here

  17. I was basically wanting to know if you ever thought of adjusting the design of your blog? It is very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you can create a little more in the way of content so people could connect to it better. Youve got an awful lot of wording for only having one or two photos. Maybe you can space it out better?

    delaware mortgage

    July 2, 2012 at 9:32 pm

  18. After I open up your Rss feed it seems to be a lot of nonsense, is the problem on my part?

    traffic attorney

    July 2, 2012 at 9:49 pm

  19. The design for the site is a bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your weblog. I may have to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

    like i said

    July 4, 2012 at 6:19 pm

  20. If you could email me with any tips on how you made this site look this awesome, Id be appreciative.

    clicking here

    July 5, 2012 at 2:34 pm

  21. Good Stuff, do you have a bebo profile?

  22. Cool post ! Cheers for, visiting this blog page dude! Ill email you some time! I did not realise that!

  23. I love this website layout . How did you make it. Its so nice!

  24. Im getting a tiny issue. I cant get my reader to pick up your rss feed, Im using msn reader by the way.

    this month

    July 7, 2012 at 4:55 am

  25. The design for the web site is a little bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your blog. I might have to use a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

    djs in atlanta

    July 7, 2012 at 12:14 pm

  26. Heya, I just hopped over to your webpage thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might generally browse, but I enjoyed your thoughts none the less. Thanks for creating some thing well worth reading through.

  27. Hello, I just hopped over to your web site via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would typically browse, but I liked your thoughts none the less. Thank you for making some thing worth reading through.

    e cig cartridge

    July 8, 2012 at 11:44 am

  28. surprisingly helpful stuff, in general I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, thanks a lot

    montel williams loan

    July 8, 2012 at 6:08 pm

  29. If you dont mind, where do you host your website? I am looking for a good web host and your website appears to be quick and up just about all the time

    ibs causes

    July 9, 2012 at 7:07 am

  30. Whenever I originally commented I clicked the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently each time a remark is added I receive 4 email messages with the identical comment.

  31. Do you might have a spam issue on this internet site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; we have created some nice techniques and we are searching to trade options with other individuals, be sure to blast me an e-mail if interested.

    cosmetic dentistry nyc

    July 10, 2012 at 12:38 am

  32. Please email me with a few hints on how you made your website look this awesome, Id appreciate it!

  33. Brilliant, cheers, I will visit again later!

    jump button

    July 10, 2012 at 6:41 pm

  34. Re: The person who produced the comment that this was a good internet site really needs to have their head reviewed.

  35. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your web page? I am looking for a great host and your website appears to be extremely fast and up all the time

    website

    July 11, 2012 at 6:09 pm

  36. If you dont mind, where do you host your webpage? I am looking for a good host and your blog appears to be fast and up just about all the time

  37. I have got 1 idea for your web page. It appears like right now there are a number of cascading stylesheet problems while opening a selection of web pages within google chrome and safari. It is operating alright in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check that.

  38. When I open up your Rss feed it appears to be a lot of garbage, is the issue on my side?

    link

    July 13, 2012 at 11:05 pm

  39. Please email me with any hints about how you made this blog look like this, Id be appreciative!

    like us on facebook

    July 14, 2012 at 5:22 am

  40. Have you given any kind of consideration at all with translating your website in to Chinese? I know a couple of translaters here which might help you do it for free if you wanna make contact with me.

    company website

    July 14, 2012 at 6:17 pm

  41. When I initially left a comment I clicked on the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and now every time a remark is added I receive four messages with the identical comment.

    silver hair

    July 15, 2012 at 6:26 pm

  42. After I start your Feed it seems to be a ton of junk, is the issue on my side?

    towel warmers

    July 16, 2012 at 12:35 pm

  43. “Something deeply hidden | North Western Winds” really got myself simply hooked with your page!
    I personallywill probably wind up being back far more regularly.
    Thanks a lot -Samual

    Meagan

    January 25, 2014 at 8:50 am


Leave a Reply

