North Western Winds

Contemplating it all from the great Pacific Northwest

Blogging update

leave a comment »

Despite all the the negative vibes I’m reading about in the world of blogging, and despite some gaps in posting that are larger than I’d like, I have no intention of wrapping this thing up anytime soon. Yes, we’ve all learned that a blog is a lot more work than you think it is going to be, and yes, there are programs like Twitter that could be a blogging substitute for some people. It’ll never do it for me, though, because I don’t care what you’re doing right now. NWW has always been about the exchange of ideas. I’m not saying I don’t like meeting new people on line – in fact, that certainly IS something that I like, and is regrettably something that has slowed down along with my frequency of posting. It’s just that I like knowing what people think a lot more than I like knowing what they’re doing right now.

One of things that I want to get away from for the time being is changing the blog template. I’ve been guilty of that a lot over the past few months. The reason I want to slow that down is that I think it plays havoc with the identity of the blog in people’s minds. I know, I know, I’m probably the only person given over to that level of concern for NWW, but there you have it. The reason for all the changes is that 1) WordPress makes it so darn easy to do (unlike Blogger), and 2), most of the templates I tried had at least one feature that didn’t work for me. They displayed the blockquote tag funny, they didn’t display links to my other pages, etc., etc. I think this one does almost everything I want. It’s clear, it’s shows pages, it displays quotes clearly. I think this one can be a keeper for a while.

As for reading habits, I am still trying to work the RSS into my daily habits. I think a folder for ‘daily reads’ will help a lot. In terms of dead tree reading, I have been given over to fiction for the first time in a years. I think it may have been dabbling with Patrick O’brian’s Aubrey-Maturin series that did it (that and coming to the end of a long philosophical- religious quest that’s been on a plateau since about a year after my conversion to Catholicism). I’ve got about six of those O’Brian books under my belt now. Since I find the the period so enchanting, I’ve decided to give Jane Austin a whirl at the moment, and her Sense and Sensibility is the only book beside my reading chair at the moment.

As for what Rebecca and I have been up to of late, you can probably follow that better on her blog.

And you, dear reader, how are you?

Technorati Tags:
,

Written by Curt

March 12, 2007 at 9:42 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

