North Western Winds

Contemplating it all from the great Pacific Northwest

Cleaning up

with 2 comments

I’ve determined that I want to put a better foot forward in public and one way to do that is dressing in a manner more suited to my age and place. Call it a New Year’s resolution if you must. It’s been a long time since I was a university student and its time my closet reflected that. So, today I used a few minutes of the first day of the new year to go through my closet and remove some older items.

I’m generally pretty good about getting rid of older things I no longer use but clothes have been an exception. Until recently I’ve tended to hold on for a long time, trying to wring value out of them. That doesn’t mean I’ve been running around in a “Spock Lives” T-shirt for twenty years. It means some of the older, well worn items get used for doing dirty job after dirty job until they go to a charity clothes recycler.

Some items don’t lend themselves to that, however. That’s always been harder, especially if the item in question was a gift. It didn’t seem to matter if I hardly ever wore it, it just seemed like a waste to give up on it. I’m beginning to come around to the idea that if I can’t use something, it’s foolish to keep it when surely there’s someone out there who could use it right now. I suppose, too, this heightened concern reflects a growing awareness that caring for appearance isn’t always simple vanity. It’s also a language, a tool that we use to communicate with one another.

There are two ways to dealt with this necessary flow of goods. One is to constantly pick up new items a few at a time and remove things at the same pace. The other is to delay and delay until you need all sorts of things and then remove things en masse, replacing in small bunches as your budget allows.

I want to be more of a steady hand at this. Your experiences?

Written by Curt

January 1, 2007 at 6:35 pm

Posted in Personal, Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My family is quite dreadful at this, so we practice the “throw things out en masse” method.

    I’m lucky re clothes in that I got myself into shape two summers ago in such a way that I had to toss out absolutely everything. (Or unlucky — I lost a good many really good pieces…)

    If you have the discipline to do it bit-by-bit, it is of course the better way to do things. I’ve never managed it.

    Ben (The Tiger)

    January 2, 2007 at 8:27 pm

  2. Wish me luck – I may need it!

    Curt

    January 2, 2007 at 9:04 pm


Leave a Reply

