North Western Winds

Contemplating it all from the great Pacific Northwest

Passwords

with 3 comments

There is an interesting read here on the subject of what real people use for passwords.

Quote:

Common Passwords: The top 20 passwords are (in order): password1, abc123, myspace1, password, blink182, qwerty1, f******, 123abc, baseball1, football1, 123456, soccer, monkey1, liverpool1, princess1, jordan23, slipknot1, superman1, iloveyou1 and monkey.

The most common password, “password1,” was used in 0.22 percent of all accounts. The frequency drops off pretty fast after that: “abc123” and “myspace1” were only used in 0.11 percent of all accounts, “soccer” in 0.04 percent and “monkey” in 0.02 percent.

For those who don’t know, Blink 182 is a band. Presumably lots of people use the band’s name because it has numbers in its name, and therefore it seems like a good password. The band Slipknot doesn’t have any numbers in its name, which explains the 1. The password “jordan23” refers to basketball player Michael Jordan and his number. And, of course, “myspace” and “myspace1” are easy-to-remember passwords for a MySpace account. I don’t know what the deal is with monkeys.

We used to quip that “password” is the most common password. Now it’s “password1.” Who said users haven’t learned anything about security?

Excuse me while I go and change all my “monkey” passwords.

Written by Curt

December 14, 2006 at 10:33 pm

Posted in Tech, Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hahaha . . . ain’t that the truth. Fortunately, none of my passwords appear on that list. However, living and working in a world where everything has a password, I have to use common passwords for most of my log-ins just so I don’t run around with a note pad of all of them written down for people to discover. Does requiring all of these different passwords actually lead to lesser security than what they are designed for? Maybe.

    modu

    December 14, 2006 at 11:06 pm

  2. Doesn’t it make you wonder how they have statistics on passwords? I mean, really, passwords should be unknown to everyone . . . including people who maintain the database of passwords.

    That’s a topic I wrote about in my blog today about how programmers store passwords. It’s really frustrating for me when I have a really strong password and someone does something stupid with it like email my password to me, store it in plain text, or have me verify my social security number as authentication.

    I hate when I’m trying to type a password in and I can’t use # or ! or other special characters or I can’t use a password longer than 12 characters. I mean, why limit me on the strength of my own password? Oh well, thanks for the blog post. It’ll get people to use secure passwords, but it’s up to the programmers out there to handle them better.

    dpatrickcaldwell

    February 27, 2009 at 2:06 pm

  3. Hi there! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when browsing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share. Cheers!

    Newsletters format

    July 24, 2011 at 8:44 pm


Leave a Reply

