North Western Winds

Contemplating it all from the great Pacific Northwest

Big Ideas

with one comment

Despite a run of stories like this, I am still very much taken with my iPod, which has saved me from a lot of song repetition and really annoying ads. I am, however, still looking to round out my Podcasts. David Pogue, Leo LaPorte and the Mac Cast have nothing to worry about as the tech podcasts are by far the best (and most numerous) that I’ve seen, but you can only listen to Mac rumours so many times week. And no one seemed to see the 24″ iMac coming, anyway. Boy would I love to have one of those! And no one seems to know exactly what Apple will announce tomorrow, although all the speculation is that there will be movies to download.

But I’m digressing.

My first attempt at broadening the aural environment of my commute had middling success. The CBC – to no one’s surprise I’m sure – was too annoyingly left. National Geographic is interesting, depending on the subject matter. The Catholic podcasts I tried were either too glib or too religious. PBS’ Religion and Ethics Weekly has been a better fit. Back to school season has meant a lot of university lectures are being podcast and I’m optimistic that I can find some good stuff in that mix. My best finds so far are:

  • The Philosopher’s Zone from ABC – that’s the Australian Broadcasting Network
  • 12 Byzantine Rulers – recorded lectures by a history professor out of New York
  • Big Ideas – lectures on a veriety of subjects, by different professors

Big Ideas is done by TVOntario and I confess to having high hopes for it. Looking at the catalogue, I saw a podcast by Steven Pinker, who I’ve read, and less thrillingly, there was also one by Bill Clinton. Yes, him.

Written by Curt

September 11, 2006 at 8:08 pm

Posted in Tech, Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the links. I’m always looking for interesting podcasts, and enjoyed the 12 Byzantine Rulers.

    Mike

    October 3, 2006 at 4:40 pm


Leave a Reply

