North Western Winds

Contemplating it all from the great Pacific Northwest

Fool me twice

with one comment

Follow these links and decide if your beloved scribe has

  • a) become one of “those” people, or
  • b) has had his brain fried to a crisp by a combination of heat induced lack of sleep and too much time spent working in heat approaching over 30C in the last seven days.

Link one: Daring Fireball posts a reportedly leaked picture of a MS Zune proto-type.

Link two: Your scribe confesses that he is not too worried about the Zune player. This is a priceless video, really, and if you haven’t seen yet you really must. Says it all too well.

The answer is both, which is quite typical of me, heat induced coma notwithstanding.

Fact is, I upgraded my iPod from a shuffle to a 30GB video player about two weeks back. I love this toy and can’t recall loving any MS product, ever. I say that having been a PC user for almost all of my computing life, going back to DOS 3.3. That was the operating system on my first computer, a IBM PC with no hard drive whatsoever (remember the 3 inch floppies, people?).

I know that Apple had a huge lead in the PC market way back when – and lost it so that it now has about 4-5% of the computer market. I just don’t think history is going to repeat itself here; not in the near term anyway. MS’ own history is its’ worst enemy now. It’s failed to meet expectations so many times that it has little credibility. So what if Vista will be the most secure and stable Windows ever! That’s not saying a lot is it?

Then there’s the mom and pop factor. These people don’t want more confusing buttons, or toolbars that look different every time you start up the program. They’re terrified of crashes (did I do that?) and malware (which they understand not a whit). Not all of them are elderly, either. They may simply be people who have no interest in computers, but do have an interest in things like music, TV and film.

Allow them to get what they want quickly, easily and cheaply, and you begin to offer them something of interest. This is something that Jonathan Ive – who designed both the iPod and the iMac – seems to get. I don’t think Apple will be fooled twice and given the direction of Apple stock lately, I’m not alone in this.

Written by Curt

July 25, 2006 at 6:56 pm

Posted in Tech

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “I say that having been a PC user for almost all of my computing life, going back to DOS 3.3. That was the operating system on my first computer, a IBM PC with no hard drive whatsoever…”

    Johnny-come-lately! The O/S on my first computer — the first one I owned, that is — was CP/M 2.1. It was a Cromemco Z-80-based box with 64K of RAM and two eight inch, 256K byte floppy disk drives.

    You young folks don’t know how lucky you are!

    Francis W. Porretto

    July 30, 2006 at 8:51 am


Leave a Reply

