North Western Winds

Contemplating it all from the great Pacific Northwest

The second time is different

with 7 comments

Oddly enough I am using Firefox as my main browser again. On moving to the Mac, Firefox was like a friendly face in a crowd of strangers and I was very glad to have a tool to work with that I knew well. Once I began to settle in, however, I thought that I should give Safari and Camino (two well known Mac only browsers) a chance. Camino is a nice and fast browser that for some unknown reason cannot connect with the WordPress composition page. It gets trapped in a loop and times out. Allowing all cookies does not appear to help in any way, despite what the error page says. I used Safari for perhaps a month or so and I did get comfortable with it – it even changed the way I use my bookmarks. Instead of having a pane of links on the left side, I now have my most common bookmarks in drop down folders just below the address window. The beauty of this is that once you pick a link, they automatically get out of your way. This means I can get away with a smaller browser window and that means easier access to other open windows on the desktop. Sadly, however, Safari has an issue with whatever tools are use to create clickable formatting buttons on both Blogger and WordPress. That’s a shame, and something I can’t believe that Apple will leave unaddressed. A search for a stand alone post editor didn’t turn up a home run. Ectowasn’t bad, but it’s not free and it’s not a dream either.

I turned to Flock when I heard that it had a built in blogging tool, and that Flock itself is based on Mozilla. Flock’s interface is pretty, if a bit cartoonish, and looks and feels a lot like Firefox. The blogging tool is nice but in using it I began to have browser tabs lock up from time to time. It was that frustration that lead me back to Firefox – which I never disliked anyway. Using the Grapple theme and some toolbar customization, I’ve got it looking as Safari-ish as I can manage. I have also decided to try composing on-line once again. WordPress has a ‘save and continue editing button that I hope will save my bacon in the event of a disaster. Plus, y’know, this OS X thingie isn’t anywhere near as crash prone as Windows XP (in fact I have never had it crash in the two months plus I’ve been using it). The formatting buttons on WP allow for a lot of control, more than Blogger’s allows, and to my very pleasant surprise – even the size of the editing window can be enlarged just be dragging the bottom right corner. That saves so much squinting and scrolling it’s not even funny.

Written by Curt

July 16, 2006 at 3:50 pm

Posted in Blogging

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m coming up on my one-year Mac anniversary. Up until about two months ago, I didn’t think I was very happy with it. That is, until I pulled out my old Compaq to use the Stata program on that machine.

    My iMac are I are, as a result, experiencing new love affair with one another.

    Peter

    July 17, 2006 at 8:47 pm

  2. It was a bit disorienting at first, but I got over it by finding new ways and new tools. I had to stop thinking the Win XP was the ‘right’ way and then more and more of OS X’s brilliance began to show through. Yeah, ok, I love it and I can admit it. Having my Mac version of Civilization 4 helps a lot too.

    northwesternwinds

    July 17, 2006 at 9:27 pm

  3. Well, well, well — here you are at WordPress! I’ve been here since November or December and have been appreciating the positive support from the tech crew — they’re continually trying to improve.

    I’ve had a bit of a reverse migration myself. My iBook died two months ago, and since it’s a work machine I’ve been waiting for work to get it fixed. In the meantime I’m on a loaner Dell laptop, trying to get used to Windows XP. It’s been two months, and while I can say I’m becoming familiar again with Windows, that doesn’t mean I’m liking it. The number of things that I cannot drag and drop between different windows and applications is driving me batty. Plus, there’s no single way to dig through folders the way a Mac can using the column view. The experience is making me think Bill Gates must be a slow-twitch user, comfortable at plodding along at a 40-wpm-comparable pace — which frustrates the daylights out of someone like me.

    Which raises an interesting point: can a person’s general computer-using speed be calculated over time, the way typing speed is? Punch in all the clicks and keystrokes, take it over a day or a week — then compare the same user on the opposite platform (Mac/Windows). I’d like to know, in mathematical terms, how switch-hitters like me are affected by different operating systems.

    the forester

    July 18, 2006 at 11:54 am

  4. “Having my Mac version of Civilization 4 helps a lot too.”

    You’ve brought up one intolerable aspect of Macs: The games are expensive.

    Peter

    July 19, 2006 at 6:36 pm

  5. I’ve been on my first mac for almost a year now. At first, I used Firefox and Thunderbird as my web apps. But I decided to give Safari and Mail a shot because of all the integrated functions with other mac programs. After I learned the new system, I am very happy with Safari (and Mail), and I won’t turn back now. I’ve never had any problems using wordpress with Safari, but perhaps things are different since I’m running worpress off my site and not wordpress’s. After being a lifelong PC user, I can’t believe it took me this long to get a mac! I love how stable OSX is, and I’ve never had a single crash or virus. As they say, “Once you go Mac, you never go back.”

    Johnny-Dee

    July 22, 2006 at 11:33 am

  6. One of the worst things about Firefox on Mac is that it continues to use its own password database instead of relying on the OS X Keychain to store information securely. This is a real pain because tools like dotMac can automatically backup your keychain **and** synchronize them with other macs.

    I wrote 1Passwd to solve this problem. 1Passwd is a Password Manager that stores all its data into the Keychain. Best of all, by using the Keychain as the central repository, all supported browsers can share the passwords. This is very important to me since I switch browsers depending on my mood and task.

    1Passwd also brings Safari’s AutoFill goodness to Firefox too 🙂

    David Teare

    July 24, 2006 at 1:39 pm

  7. Thanks for the tip about 1Passwd David. I’ve been annoyed by Firefox’s password management for long enough!

    – Jason

    Jason Miller

    December 1, 2008 at 3:33 pm


Leave a Reply

