North Western Winds

Contemplating it all from the great Pacific Northwest

Baby steps

leave a comment »

Still monkeying around with WordPress, with mixed sucess.

Suceeded in adding the WP posting bookmarklet to Safari, and I’ve – miraculously, it seems – got the Flickr sidebar widget to show on the page, giving it some much needed colour. I have not got the del.icio.us or RSS widgets to show, despite dragging them in the same way seemed to make the Flickr widget happy. I don’t see a way to edit the Flickr widget to a personal Flickr account either.

It might be nice to do that, and I might be able to do it via template edits. There doesn’t seem to be an easy way to get at the template beyond using the browser’s “show source” command, saving it to a file and doing the edits in TextEdit. It would be labourious but bearable if it actually worked. I have nothing to show for my efforts, however. I may have created another page linked to my account with an URL of whoknowswhat/.

I will promise to look at the documentation again – problem is, there is rather a lot of it. And gobs of it seem to relate to running the software on your own machine, which I am not doing. Since I got a lot of very helpful comments here last time I will hope that my luck holds out and the WP vets still have patience with a WP rookie who has high hopes for he suspects will be his new blog home.

In happier news –

My copy of Civilization IV Mac arrived this week, as did my first ‘real’ iPod. It’s quite a step up from the iPod shuffle and I think I will be very pleased with it. I also got it for a great price; the cherry on top of what has been a great week.

Written by Curt

July 9, 2006 at 9:43 pm

Posted in Tech

Leave a Reply

