North Western Winds

Contemplating it all from the great Pacific Northwest

Where the blacktop ends

leave a comment »

We’ve had a real warm and sunny stint here over the last week and I’m starting to really look forward to spring, and longer days, and flowers in bloom, and… you get the picture. It was 16C yesterday afternoon but it’s still close to freezing at night.

This a great song for the kind of days I’m longing for. The artist is Keith Urban, whose upcoming show in Vancouver sold out in minutes.

Where the blacktop ends

Gonna kick off my shoes
And run in bare feet
Where the grass and the dirt and the gravel all meet
Goin’ back to the well gonna visit old friends
And feed my soul where the blacktop ends

I’m lookin’ down the barrel of Friday night
Ridin’ on a river of freeway lights
Goodbye city I’m country bound
‘Til Monday rolls around

Gonna kick off my shoes
And run in bare feet
Where the grass and the dirt and the gravel all meet
Goin’ back to the well gonna visit old friends
And feed my soul where the blacktop ends

Workin’ in the grind is an uphill road
Punchin’ that clock and carryin’ that load
I bust it all week and then I’m free
The weekend belongs to me

Gonna kick off my shoes
And run in bare feet
Where the grass and the dirt and the gravel all meet
Goin’ back to the well gonna visit old friends
And feed my soul where the blacktop ends

Give me some fresh air give me that farm
Give me some time with you in my arms
Far away from the hustle and the pressure and the noise

Gonna kick off my shoes
And run in bare feet
Where the grass and the dirt and the gravel all meet
Goin’ back to the well gonna visit old friends
And feed my soul, you betcha

Gonna kick off my shoes
And run in bare feet
Where the grass and the dirt and the gravel all meet
Goin’ back to the well gonna visit old friends
And feed my soul where the blacktop ends

Where the blacktop ends
Where the blacktop ends
Where the blacktop ends

That’s the Fraser River rolling past Abbotsford, British Columbia. The big hill in behind the farms is Sumas Mountain. The picture was taken from Westminster Abbey in Mission, a Catholic seminary high school located at the top of a large hill over looking the river. The steeple can be seen from a long ways off. Posted by Hello


Posted by Hello

Written by Curt

February 25, 2005 at 4:57 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

