North Western Winds

Contemplating it all from the great Pacific Northwest

This still on?

with 5 comments

I never imagined when I wrote the previous post about Obama’s candidacy that it would be over a year before I hit the publish button again. It’s been more like a year and a half since I was posting regularly. What can I say about that? I was seriously burnt out from blogging, and blogging about the topics that had come to drive North Western Winds: Darwin, Abortion, religion and Catholicism, as well as Harper’s Conservative Party of Canada.

Removing those bows from my quiver left me with little ready at hand to write about, and the whole blogging thing had become, in my mind, burdensome. I found myself turning to a different longstanding interest of mine – technology. I got some new toys and started reading some very different sorts of sites.

In April of last year (2008) my family was involved in a serious car crash. It occurred, of all places, early on a Sunday morning on the way to Mass. Our SUV was written off by the insurance company, I had three cracked ribs and missed weeks of work, Rebecca has shoulder pain to this day, and my mother in law was in hospital for weeks with minor fractures and a concussion.

That event had a deep impact on life in our house this past year. We’ve had a lot to deal with and it isn’t over yet. I’m doing well and have been back at work for some time now. Rebecca has changed occupations and is working on getting that shoulder right. My mother in law has had the longest journey back but she is turning a corner.

On Christmas eve this year (2008) I fell ill – literally! – after supper and was down and out for a week, and weak for a time after that. It was some sort of stomach flu that made me feel like my insides were melting away. It was hard to eat and I spent days tossing and turning on the bed, wishing it would stop.

Those events put a dent my church going, which was becoming dangerously monotonous even before then. I’m still Catholic and I still attend, but my tolerance for religious ‘enthusiasm’ is even lower than it was previously. My religiosity remains literary  and philosophical but I have a gained heightened awareness of my own differences from the Church Cheerleaders. My attitudes towards Darwin and abortion have not changed though. They preceded my churchgoing, so perhaps that’s no surprise.

I find myself having a falling out with the Conservative Party of Canada. Whether it is the relentless pursuit of free market liberalization or harsher penalties for everything, Harper’s Conservatives are too ideologically driven. A proper Tory party has the good of the Canadian people as its goal, and uses every tool it has to that effect. Harper’s team, on the other hand, wants everything it does to cohere with certain ideas that strike me as cheap, simple, and reductionist. I voted Green in the last election and I would do so again.

In an interesting way, it is my interest in technology that has brought me to writing this post. Rebecca and I have been trying out Twitter for a couple of months now. She – no surprise really – has been quite taken with it and has a lot of followers. Introverted egghead that I am, I have been less interested in posting than I am in seeing what people do with the service. Rebecca is threatening to start a new blog (yes, again) for those times when “140 characters just isn’t enough.” Seeing her work on that project reminded me that I have a project here, one that I might be able to remake in a way that makes writing and interacting fun once again.

I make no promises about what might or might not be posted here. My most recent interest, one that has gobbled up oodles of my time, has been working with a virtual Linux machine on my iMac. I don’t have much to say about Obama other than I still don’t like him.

Let’s see where this goes, yes?


Written by Curt

May 5, 2009 at 3:02 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a comment » I wrote that last post in a blog editor called Blogo. It’s a pretty darn nice looking bit of software I first became […]

  2. You voted Green? You might as well piss on the Bible you false catholic

    what?

    June 30, 2009 at 9:16 pm

  3. One – I missed you too.

    Two – Your concern for my family is touching.

    Three – Fuck off.

    Curt

    July 1, 2009 at 8:58 am

  4. Am glad I dropped by. Am very sorry to hear about your trials this past year.

    The funny thing is that you’ve perfectly expressed how I feel about the Conservatives now. Everything is simplistic, including, most annoying of all, harsher penalties for all. I want to copy what you wrote and send it out as an explanation for my new soft hostility toward the party.

    Hope to see you posting again.

    Peter Rempel

    October 10, 2009 at 6:54 pm

  5. Hi Peter!

    It’s good to hear from you. Although the blog is, shall we say, “quiet”, I do miss some of the contact. I hope you’re well and if you have a web presence of some kind (Facebook?) you’ll let me know what it is. We had a challenging year but it’s behind us now. We’re all thankful to be turning a corner and getting on with it.

    And you? What you you up to these days?

    Curt

    Curt

    October 15, 2009 at 7:09 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

